Oilumni: Celebrating the Edmonton Oilers from a Fan's Perspective

Oilumni Home | Articles and Analysis | Records and Statistics |
Hall of Outstanding Oilers

Hall of Outstanding Oilers

On October 1, 2003, to celebrate the Edmonton Oilers 25th Anniversary since joining the NHL, the Oilumni fan site created the Hall of Outstanding Oilers. Enshrined in this inaugural induction are 25 members representing the Oilers’ NHL-era, another seven members representing the Oilers’ WHA-era and two media representatives whose coverage of the Edmonton Oilers has been previously recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The players listed below – be they superstars, role players, or journeymen – represented the best of Oilers hockey when they wore the blue and orange / blue and copper and left indelible impressions on the fans of Edmonton. Similarly, the builders and media enshrinees below exhibited excellence in their craft and greatly contributed to the creation and enjoyment of what we recognize as Oilers hockey.

The criteria for selection to the Hall of Outstanding Oilers is based on the following:

Players and Builders

  • Accomplishments as an Edmonton Oiler Only – An individual’s accomplishments with any other organization before or after his tenure in Edmonton, no matter how impressive, have absolutely no bearing or influence on his consideration for the Hall of Outstanding Oilers. Only his performance as an Oiler will be considered for this honour.
  • Length of Tenure with the Oilers – To be eligible for consideration to the Hall, forwards and defensemen must have appeared in at least 200 NHL games as an Oiler and goaltenders must have appeared in at least 100 NHL games with Edmonton. Presuming that the longer an individual is affiliated with the Oilers the greater his embodiment of what Oilers hockey stands for and the more he becomes associated with this team, the selection process harbours a bias towards individuals with a more lengthy association with the Edmonton Oilers organization.
  • Memorable Impact – It may be a whole career, a single season, a game, or even just a single moment in time, but through their actions these individuals have imprinted themselves upon collective consciousness of Edmonton Oilers fans.
  • NHL- or WHA-Era – Some individuals had playing careers spanning both the WHA and NHL incarnations of the Edmonton Oilers. These players will be enshrined in the Hall of Outstanding Oilers within the section covering the era where they made the most significant impact. There are no distinctions between the WHA or NHL eras in the Builders category.
  • Non-Active Oilers Only – Player enshrinees may still be actively involved in hockey, but to be eligible for the Hall of Oustanding Oilers they must be in the post-Oilers period of their playing career and be at least three full NHL seasons removed from appearing on the Oilers active roster.
  • Journalists and Broadcasters

  • Individuals receiving this honour must have been previously recognized for their outstanding abilities and excellence in their craft. Selections in this category will be in addition to the annual player/builder induction process as described above.
  • Beginning in October 2004 and with the commencement of each subsequent NHL season, another NHL-era player or builder will be inducted by the Selection Committee to join this elite group of Outstanding Oilers. WHA-era players will be added as deemed appropriate by the Selection Committee.


    Anderson, Glenn (2003)
    Buchberger, Kelly (2003)
    Coffey, Paul (2003)
    Fogolin, Lee (2003)
    Fuhr, Grant (2003)
    Gregg, Randy (2003)
    Gretzky, Wayne (2003)
    Hughes, Pat (2003)
    Hunter, Dave (2003)
    Huddy, Charlie (2003)
    Krushelnyski, Mike (2003)
    Kurri, Jari (2003)
    Linseman, Ken (2003)
    Lowe, Kevin (2003)
    Lumley, Dave (2003)
    MacTavish, Craig (2003)
    McClelland, Kevin (2003)
    Messier, Mark (2003)
    Moog, Andy (2003)
    Ranford, Bill (2003)
    Semenko, Dave (2003)
    Simpson, Craig (2003)
    Smith, Steve (2003)
    Tikkanen, Esa (2003)
    Weight, Doug (2004)


    Callighen, Brett (2003)
    Chipperfield, Ron (2003)
    Dryden, Dave (2003)
    Flett, Bill “Cowboy” (2003)
    Hamilton, Al (2003)
    MacDonald, Blair “BJ” (2003)
    Patenaude, Edgar “Rusty” (2003)


    Sather, Glen (2003)


    Matheson, Jim (2003)
    Phillips, Rod (2003)


    The following is a partial list of former Edmonton Oilers players and builders who will become eligible for consideration by the Selection Committee in upcoming years. Please note that this is not necessarily a complete listing.

    Players – NHL-Era:
    2005: First Time Eligible: Mike Grier; Rem Murray.
    Returning Candidates: Jason Arnott; Josef Beranek; Jeff Beukeboom; Sean Brown; Zdeno Ciger; Dan Cleary; Louie DeBrusk; Martin Gelinas; Bill Guerin; Don Jackson; Curtis Joseph; Petr Klima; Dave Manson; Bryan Marchment; Dean McAmmond; Marty McSorley; Boris Mironov; Craig Muni; Joe Murphy; Tom Poti; Luke Richardson; Risto Siltanen; Geoff Smith; Scott Thornton; Stan Weir.
    2006: First Time Eligible: Anson Carter; Todd Marchant; Janne Niinimaa.
    2007: First Time Eligible: Tommy Salo.
    2008: First Time Eligible: Eric Brewer, Scott Ferguson.
    Still Active: Shawn Horcoff; Georges Laraque; Ethan Moreau; Jason Smith; Steve Staios; Ryan Smyth.

    Players – WHA-Era:
    Ken Baird; Doug Barrie; Ron Climie; Dave Langevin; Barry Long; Paul Shmyr.

    Ted Green; Bill Hunter; Ron Low; Kevin Lowe; Craig MacTavish; John Muckler; Peter Pocklington.


    The following Edmonton Oilers scored goals in their first NHL game:
  • Kevin Lowe, Oct. 10, 1979
  • Dave Hunter, Oct. 10, 1979
  • Jason Bonsignore, May 3, 1995
  • Rem Murray, Oct. 4, 1996
  • Mats Lindgren, Nov. 3, 1996
  • Peter Sarno, Nov. 4, 2003

  • Got any comments? Want to work up a trade? Please reach me via email.

    Notice: The hockey-related portions of this not-for-profit, non-commercial fan web site are unaffiliated with the Edmonton Oilers Hockey Club; the National Hockey League (NHL) and its member teams; the National Hockey League Players Association (NHLPA) and its member players; and their trading card company licensees. Any trademarks and images from these entities that have been used herein for editorial purposes remain the exclusive property of the original rights holders. All other elements of this web site, including but not limited to site design and content, are copyright © 1993-2011 Matthew S. McCallum, all rights reserved.

    Return To: Matthew McCallum's Online Home | Cardboard Ice Collection Home | Signatures In Ice Collection Home | Delirium League Hockey Home Ice | Oilumni: Celebrating the Edmonton Oilers Home